2017 FTC National Awards Night

Flat Track Canada’s 5th annual awards banquet took place November 18th at Pub Fiction in Ancaster, Ontario.  2017 proved to have its challenges, FTC staff, riders and fans persevere and pardon the pun we are right on track for a very successful 2018.  The awards night was a buzz with a record number in attendance to celebrate.

Walking away with some of the most prestigious awards FTC has to offer were Teagan Deadman with Most Improved, Dustin Brown received Rookie of the Year and Most Promising, Taia Little went home with the Rising Star Award, and Ty Rahm with Junior Rookie of the Year.  Huge thanks to Jerrett Bellamy from Moto-Cycle Metal Works for once again creating stunning trophies that double as beautiful pieces of art.  Amongst the other awards are the ones you don’t aim to receive. Best Crash to Hunter Bauer and Broken Bone to Liam Caskie. Mechanic of the year was bestowed to Dana Lambert.

Intermediate DTX Champ was #9 Jimmy McCullough and Intermediate Open Champ went to #25 Luke Rahm.

Kyle Lonnen (69B) dominated the Novice classes with double championship wins in both DTX and Open. Jimmy McCullough won in open novice and DTX novice.   

#929 Andy Wayne wrapped up his race career crowned ATV Open Champion. FTC’s newest class added to the roaster, ATV Production featured #19 Adam Minnie as the first champ.

Hall of Famer #32 John Kehoe traded in his Speedway bike to compete in the Veteran Class and brought the Championship home.

The Vintage Mod class was won by #666 Brad Kitto (we are pretty sure he had help from below). At the opposite spectrum is the Vintage Dino, dominated by #85A Mark Fairfull.

Proving her “Most Improved” award in 2016 was justly deserved – #11 Dylan Biekx won the 250 Novice championship.

#13 Boyd Deadman won the 85cc Championship. Unique to the National Series is our Beginner Class – #11 Taia Little was the winner. 65cc Champion #94 Adrian St. Amand dominated every race of the season. Rounding out our Youth Classes are the 50cc Classes, #6 Seth Parsons won 50cc Chain and #119 Mason Drumm won 50cc Shaft.


The true champion of the night was young Brodie Buchan. Brodie brought home the Championship for both Expert Classes – DTX and OPEN. Brodie took home the Expert DTX championship in 2016. However this was his very first Flat Track Canada National Championship. Dawning Brodie with some exciting swag.  President, Aaron Hesmer presented Brodie with his brand new 2017 FTC National Championship Ring.  Among other gifts from Honda Canada, Parts Canada, and Flat Track Canada.

Some exciting news was released at the banquet as well.  Flat Track Canada is now featuring a truly National race series, with Western race dates to be announced.


©2018 Flat Track Canada. All Rights Reserved. Posts may be used for media and promotional use. Content on this website is public and may be used for informative and promotional purpose by permission.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply